2015: Gardens by the Bay Outing with MDAS

Written by: Chia Rui Fen

Laughter permeates the air at Gardens by the Bay on 2 December 2015, an eye-opening and refreshing day spent interacting with children under the Muscular Dystrophy Association (Singapore) (MDAS).

To continue our partnership with MDAS, Lifeline organised an outing with the aim for them to gain a new and exciting experience, with the theme of sports and team spirit, in lieu of the then upcoming 8th ASEAN Paralympic Games held in Singapore.

Initially I felt uncertain on how to approach them. We had significant setbacks during the planning process. We were not sure of the extent their physical conditions would limit their ability to participate in certain activities. When we first welcomed them at Gardens by the Bay, some were reserved, and even uncooperative. More doubts started to cloud my head. Will they enjoy the activities lined up for them today?

Thankfully, my fears diminished in the light of their smiles and cheerful faces. One thing I really took back with me was their positivity. They were radiating with pure, simple happiness, one which I rarely encounter let alone experience. They raced on their wheelchairs, teased each other and shone with such contagious joy that I found myself smiling with them.

Their excitement resonated with us as we conducted an amazing race for them – the Colour Run. At every station game, their competitive spirit was also really endearing. “I guessed first”, “I got ten points now” – their willingness to try demonstrated their perseverance. I was heartened that they have fire burning bright in their hearts despite their physical condition.

I am sure the other volunteers harbour the same admiration for the children’s caregivers. In all our conversations with the caregivers, as we listen to their experiences, we marvel at their patience as they carry their responsibilities. If I felt worn-out after a day looking after them, imagine how tiring it must be for them. Yet, they still do it without complaint. They all embody the same deep understanding for their child, which I believe, stems from love. When one of the children won a game, his caregiver ruffled his hair and told him “you did a great job” and you could see the pride in her eyes. It was such a heartwarming sight.

At the end of the day, before they boarded the van on their way home, they came up to us and thanked us for bringing them to Gardens by the Bay.

I felt I should be thanking them. I am beyond blessed to have this wonderful opportunity to be their friends, to experience such joy, witness such love and see the strength of the human spirit.

Leave a comment